What To Read After Harry Potter

Are you feeling a hole in your heart after living each moment of roller coaster ride of danger and adventure with Harry, Ron and Hermione and thinking what to read after Harry Potter? Are you searching for books like Harry Potter or series like Harry Potter.

Then, you are at the right place. Read on. This post is about reading suggestions for Harry Potter fans. Books like Harry Potter. A long post alert, but you can always skip it and scroll down, straight for the book recommendation.

Here’s the glimpse of what to read after Harry Potter

What To Read After Harry Potter 1

Reading fantasy books are such a welcome break from the day to day routine activity and escapism from the predicaments and hassles of the real world.

The words of the author create a whole new world with new possibilities, new abilities, weird creatures, adventure and danger at each step. You get to meet some fearless heroes and heroines who infuse a new meaning and dimension to your daydreaming. In other words, you can live in a world of your choice and kind of life which is not possible in the mortal world.

I grew up reading the adventures of Professor Shonku, a fictional character created by the great and ardent fantasy fan, Satyajit Ray. It gave wings to the imagination of 10 year old myself. Every now and then I would transport myself to Shonku’s world and advent onto an adventurous journey of my own. Wow! What days they were. To be lost in thoughts of my fantasy muse.

But realities are cruel and people around you are always there to pull you down from your reverie. While growing up I somehow lost my craze for fantasy fiction. I was expected to concentrate more on textbooks and the need of the time demanded that I keep my fantasies in the remote corner of the cupboard.

What To Read After Harry Potter 2

But not for too long. My love for fantasy fiction got a fresh lease of life when a book buddy placed in my hand, then, the latest craze of young teens Harry Potter’s first book The Philosopher’s Stone by JK Rowling.

For next three years I was in the materialistic world only when required and spend most of the time at Hogwarts. Spending my days and night visualizing Harry, Hermione and Ron to grow, facing new challenges and dangers in every page, witnessing the return of Voldemort.

Above all the series gave new heights and aura to the term friendship and love. Harry was nurtured, nourished and protected by the power of unconditional love and true friends. Love begets love and makes this world a better and lively place to live.

Voldemort, on the other hand, had known only one feeling that of hatred. He had given hatred and he received the same in return.

Like love, hate is also a powerful emotion, but with more negative inclination. Hatred disintegrated Voldemort soul which led to his declination. He only desired power, and more power to exercise control, to instill fear and to become the ultimate.

I read the entire series in three years. Four books were already released when I picked up the first book. Such was my level of investment in the book that I used to read day in and day out.

What To Read After Harry Potter 3

Finishing off each book in a day or two. I still can’t forget those terrible hangovers. I just wanted to live in Hogwarts. After meeting fellow book lovers on various social media sites like Facebook, Twitter and Instagram, I realized that I was not alone. There are many like me who read and reread Harry Potter series like crazy.

After reading such a forceful and amazing fantasy series, a vacuum came into my life. And like many other potterheads, I started searching for more series or books similar to Harry Potter series.

I find none exactly similar to Harry Potter. And it is silly to find one either, since magnificent and mammoth series like Harry Potter are written once in a century.

But yes, I found many fantastic fantasy series were the protagonist was a teen just like Harry Potter and was marked or the protagonist was on a continuous run to save himself or herself till finds enough support and strength to combat the unmatched enemies. So here is the list of books or series, which you could cherish reading after completing the Harry Potter series

Books Like Harry Potter

What To Read After Harry Potter Series

Inkredia Luwan of Brida by Sarang Mahajan

Luwan of Brida is the first book in the Inkredia series. Like Harry Potter, Luwan was a young boy of 17 year age and was on run from three deadly assassins who for some unknown reason want to kill him.

The book has a sensational storyline, unique characters and lucid writing style which makes this fantasy novel an extraordinary read. There was thrill and action on each page with the touch of suspense and suspicion. You will read this book with a bated breath. A must read.

It is a trilogy series with the second book The Castle of Tushkrum is expected to release this year in 2019.

What To Read After The Harry Potter Series

The Fire Song Chronicles by Atlanta Bushnell

The Fire Song Chronicles is another adventurous fantasy series I happened to chance upon.

Till date two books has been released in the series. They are Rise of Erifs and Secrets in the Ice. Five more are expected to release.

The series was about the seven kingdoms of the Universe. Lataninia was the most powerful but unfortunately captured by Erifs who rules the kingdom of Keppar.

Now it was on the young blood of Lataninia to save the Universe from the terror of Erifs. They were gathering support by visiting remaining kingdoms. In each book they will be visiting a kingdom.

So there were always dual dangers to combat. First was the unknown dangers in the kingdom the young Prince and his team visit. And second the assassins of Erifs were always on the trail.

I have read both the released books in the series and they are fantastic reads. Full of adventure and something or other unexpected is always happening, which will keep you engrossed till the end.

The next book Ruins of Timedelle will be releasing soon in this year, 2019.

What To Read After Harry Potter 10 Year Old

Shades of Magic Series by Victoris E. Schwab

Now this series is not exactly about teenagers but it is about magic and that also in it’s evilest form. There are three books is the series. They are A Darker Shade of Magic, A Gathering of Shadow and A Conjuring of Light.

The series is about Kell, a rare magician with the power to travel all the four parallels of London, which includes Red, Grey, White and sometimes Black as well. He has been tricked to unleash the dark magic. Now it was upon him and his partner to save all the four Londons. But evil was behind him and want him dead at any cost.

The series shoot the fame of the author Schwab to a new height. The amazing storyline, spellbinding fantasy and adventure advent the readers on a roller-coaster ride. As a consequence it became the most highly recommended fantasy series for Potterheads.

What To Read After Harry Potter 8 Year Old

The Chronicles of Narnia by C. S. Lewis

The first book in the series of The Chronicles of Narnia was published in 1950 and till date it is considered to be the best fantasy series for the children and teenagers, maybe adults as well.

There are total seven books in the series which are as follows in publication order

  • The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (1950)
  • Prince Caspian (1951)
  • The Voyage of the Dawn Treader (1952)
  • The Silver Chair (1953)
  • The Horse and His Boy (1954)
  • The Magician’s Nephew (1955)
  • The Last Battle (1956)

The series has all the ingredients to become a classic series. There is magic, mythical beast and creatures, animals are personified as humans, packed with a lot of adventure and action.

The central characters were children who are magically transported to the world of Narnia. There they receives special powers to assist protecting the Narnia from evils and dangerous.

It is must read series. Age certainly shouldn’t matter.

Since this series is specially written for children so everything is black and white. There is a clear demarcation between good and evil. But this doesn’t mean all the characters are perfect. They are flawed and vulnerable, but strive to become perfect. That’s why relatable.

, What To Read After Harry Potter Reddit

The Winternight Trilogy by Katherine Arden

The Next in the list is The WinterNight Trilogy. It is a debut series by Katherine Arden and the series is hailed for its lyrical writing, enchanting descriptions and an irresistibly adorable and courageous heroine with whom you will, instantly, fell in love.

All the books in the series have been released. They are The Bear and the Nightingale (2017), The Girl in the Tower (2017) and The Winter of the Witch (2019). The series is set in a remote village of Russia, where there was winter all throughout the year. I think that’s why the name The Winter Night.

In the village lives Vasilisa Vasya who has a special spiritual power which enables her to see creatures who were considered to be imagination and were only found in the stories and folklore.

She and the villagers worship spirits, but her step mother, a devout, with the help of the church want to change it. The dangers start lurking the village due to this and Vasya save her village, but pays a heavy price and was on run. More dangers waiting for her to strike disaster.

All these are must read books for Harry Potter fans adults and kids

Previously, when I started this post on books similar to Harry Potter, I thought to stick to just five fantasy fiction book recommendation. But there is yet another series which is seriously knocking the door to enter into the list and not to be left behind.  All the fantasy lover might be well aware of it. So here it is.

Percy Jackson Series by Rick Riordan –

There are two series of Percy Jackson. Both the series are the re-telling of mythical tales of Greek and Roman.

First one is The Olympians Series, which is about Greek Gods and demigods. Percy Jackson and his friends fight with mythical Greek monster and the evil army of Titan lord Kronos. There are total six books in the series. They are

  • The Lightning Thief (2005)
  • The Sea of Monsters (2006)
  • The Titan’s Curse (2007)
  • The Battle of the Labyrinth (2008)
  • The Last Olympian (2009)

The Second one is Heroes of Olympus Series with total five books. It is a re-telling of Roman mythology. So you will get to read more about Roman gods and demigods and a few Greek gods as well. The books are as follows in the chronological order as released

  • The Lost Hero (2010)
  • The Son of Neptune (2011)
  • The Mark of Athena (2012)
  • The House of Hades (2013)
  • The Blood of Olympus (2014)

Both the series of Percy Jackson are full of adventure and is massively popular.

I would love to add more series to the list. My parameters are it should be about a teenager running to save his or her life without knowing that he or she is destined for something big and dangerous. Or the series or the book could be about magic.

If you have such a recommendation in mind do share it in the comment section so that I can include it in the list and make this post an exhaustive list of what to read after Harry Potter.

Interested in a Book? Let us know in comments.

Close Menu
%d bloggers like this: